The Arts

A look at the city's cultural hot spots.



(page 2 of 2)

 

illustration by Martha Kelly | Memphis Urban Sketchers - Memphis Brooks Museum of Art

THEATRICAL GROUPS

Our Own Voice Theatre Troupe 274-1000, ourownvoice.org
Playback Memphis 
264-0841, playbackmemphis.com
Poplar Pike Playhouse 755-7775, ppp.org
Tennessee Shakespeare Company 759-0604, tnshakespeare.org
Voices of the South 726-0800, voicesofthesouth.org

 

LOCAL VENUES

Bartlett Performing Arts & Conference Center 3663 Appling Rd., 385-6440, bpacc.org
Buckman Performing & Fine Arts Center at St. Mary’s School 60 Perkins Extd., 537-1483, stmaryschool.org/thebuckman
Cannon Center for the Performing Arts 255 N. Main, 576-1201, thecannoncenter.com
Germantown Performing Arts Center (GPAC) 1801 Exeter Rd., 751-7500, gpacweb.com
Harrell Performing Arts Center 440 W. Powell Rd., Collierville, 457-2780, harrelltheatre.org
Landers Center 4560 Venture Dr., Southaven, 662-280-9120, landerscenter.com
Levitt Shell 1928 Poplar, Overton Park, 272-2722, levittshell.org
Marcus W. Orr Center for the Humanities University of Memphis, 678-2520, memphis.edu/moch
Minglewood Hall 1555 Madison, 312-6058, minglewoodhall.com
The Orpheum 203 S. Main, 525-3000, orpheum-memphis.com

 

ARTS ORGANIZATIONS

ArtsMemphis 578-2787, artsmemphis.org
Beethoven Club Series 274-2504, beethovenclubmemphis.org
The Blues Foundation
 527-2583, blues.org
Center for Southern Folklore 525-3655, southernfolklore.com
Children’s Ballet Theater 685-1132, balletchildren.com
Concerts International 527-3067, concertsinternationalmemphis.org
Crosstown Arts 507-8030, crosstownarts.org
Dance Works danceworksinc.org
Germantown Symphony Orchestra 755-8708, germantownsymphony.org
IRIS Orchestra 751-7669, irisorchestra.com
Lindenwood Concerts 458-1652, lindenwoodcc.com
Live at the Garden 636-4107, liveatthegarden.com
Memphis Black Arts Alliance, Inc. 948-9522, memphisblackartsalliance.org
Memphis Chamber Music Society 758-0150, artsmemphis.org
Memphis/Germantown Art League mgal.org
Memphis Jewish Community Center 761-0810, jccmemphis.org
Memphis Music Foundation 527-1029, memphismeansmusic.com
Memphis & Shelby County Music Commission 576-6850, memphismusic.org
Project: Motion 214-5327, projectmotiondance.org
The Recording Academy 525-1340, grammy.org
Rumba Room
 523-0200, memphisrumbaroom.com
UrbanArt Commission
 454-0474,urbanartcommission.org

 

READINGS & 
BOOK SIGNINGS

Barnes & Noble 2774 N. Germantown Pkwy., 386-2468 barnesandnoble.com
The Booksellers at Laurelwood 387 Perkins Extd., 683-9801 thebooksellersatlaurelwood.com
Burke’s Book Store 936 S. Cooper, 278-7484 burkesbooks.com
Java Cabana 2170 Young, 272-7210 javacabanacoffeehouse.com
River City Writers Series 678-4692, memphis.edu/english/   

photographs by Andrea Zucker - Memphis Symphony Orchestra

 

Add your comment: