The Arts

A look at the city's cultural hot spots.



Levitt Shell in Overton Park

illustration by Nancy Mardis | Memphis Urban Sketchers

(page 1 of 2)

VISUAL ARTS AND EXHIBITIONS

Belz Museum of Asian and Judaic Art 119 S. Main, 523-2787 belzmuseum.org
Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library 3030 Poplar, 415-2700 memphislibrary.org
The Dixon Gallery and Gardens 4339 Park Ave., 761-5250 dixon.org
Memphis Botanic Garden 750 Cherry Rd., 636-4100 memphisbotanicgarden.com
Memphis Brooks Museum of Art Overton Park, 1934 Poplar Ave., 544-6200 brooksmuseum.org
Metal Museum 374 Metal Museum Dr., 774-6380 metalmuseum.org

 

ART GALLERIES

Crosstown Arts 422 N. Cleveland, 507-8030, crosstownarts.org
David Lusk Gallery 4540 Poplar, 767-3800, davidluskgallery.com
David Perry Smith Gallery 702 New York St., 606-9690, davidperrysmithgallery.com
Fountain Gallery 3029 Poplar, 458-7100, fountainartgallery.org
Gallery Fifty-Six 2256 Central, 276-1251, thepalladiogroup.com
Gallery Ten Ninety One at WKNO 
7151 Cherry Farms Rd., 458-2521, wkno.org/gallery1091
Harrington Brown Gallery 5179 Wheelis, 590-3008, harringtonbrowngallery.com
Jack Kenner Photographic Gallery 2094 Court, 722-8877, jackkenner.com
L. Ross Gallery 5040 Sanderlin, 767-2200, lrossgallery.com
R & W Gallery 2622 Poplar, 327-9239

 

Broad Avenue Arts District

broadavearts.com
Five in One (VINI) 
2535 Broad, fiveinone.org
MetalWorks Design Studios 2537 Broad, 327-4000, mtlwrks.com
Nu Gallery
 2577 Broad Ave., nugallery.net
T. Clifton Art Gallery 2751 Broad, 323-278. tcliftonart.com

 

South Main Arts District

southmainmemphis.net
Art Village Gallery 410 S. Main, 521-0782
D’Edge Art & Unique Treasures 550 S. Main, 521-0054, dedgeart.com
Disciple Design 390 S. Main, 386-4299, discipledesign.com
Joysmith Gallery 46 Huling, 543-0505, joysmith.com
Leadership Memphis Gallery 363 363 S. Main, 278-0016, leadershipmemphis.org
Rainbow Studio 400 S. Front, 521-0400, rainbowstudio.com
Robinson Gallery 44 Huling, 526-1820, robinsongallery.com
Sue Layman Designs 125 G.E. Patterson, 409-7870, suelaymandesigns.com
300 South Main Gallery 300 S. Main. 877-8548, facebook.com.300ATSMain

 

COLLEGE & UNIVERSITY 
ART GALLERIES

The Art Museum at the University of Memphis 678-2224, amum.org
Beverly and Sam Ross Gallery, 
Christian Brothers University
321-4228, cbu.edu/cbu/library/gallery
Clough-Hanson Gallery, Rhodes College 843-3442, rhodes.edu
Memphis College of Art 272-5100, mca.edu

 

MUSIC & DANCE

Ballet Memphis 7950 Trinity Rd., 737-7322 balletmemphis.org
Memphis Symphony Orchestra 585 S. Mendenhall, 537-2525 memphissymphony.org
New Ballet Ensemble and School 2157 York, 274-5368 newballet.org
Opera Memphis 6745 Wolf River Blvd., 257-3100 operamemphis.org
STAX Music Academy 926 E. McLemore, 946-2535, soulsvillefoundation.org

 

THEATER

Bartlett Community Theatre bartlettcommunitytheatre.org
Germantown Community Theatre 3037 S. Forest Hill-Irene, 754-2680 gctcomeplay.org
Hattiloo Theatre & Hattiloo Black Box Theatre 656 Marshall Ave./652 Marshall Ave., 525-0009 hattiloo.org
New Day Children’s Theatre 
4630 Merchant’s Park Cl., 853-9669
newdaytheatre.org
Playhouse on the Square & Circuit Playhouse 66 S. Cooper/51 S. Cooper, 726-4656 playhouseonthesquare.org
Rhodes College McCoy Theatre 2000 N. Parkway, 843-3839 rhodes.edu/theatre
Theatre Memphis 630 Perkins Extd., 682-8323 theatrememphis.org
TheatreWorks & Evergreen Theatre 2085 Monroe Ave./1705 Poplar Ave., 274-7139 theatreworksmemphis.org
University of Memphis Department of Theatre & Dance 144 Theatre Building, 678-5643 memphis.edu/theatre

photograph courtesy The Orpheum - Memphis the Musical at the Orpheum

 

 

Add your comment: