The Arts

A look at the city's broad and diverse cultural offerings.




Photos by Amie Vanderford

Visual Arts & Exhibitions

The Dixon Gallery and Gardens
4339 Park Avenue, 761-5250, dixon.org
 
Memphis Brooks Museum of Art
1934 Poplar Avenue (Overton Park), 544-6200, brooksmuseum.org
 
Memphis College of Art
1930 Poplar Avenue, Overton Park, 272-5100, mca.edu
 
National Ornamental Metal Museum
374 Metal Museum Drive, 774-6380, metalmuseum.org
 

Other art galleries:

The Art Museum at the University of Memphis — amum.org, 678-2224

Automatic Slim's Tonga Club (restaurant with gallery) — automaticslimsmemphis.com, 525-7948

Belz Museum of Asian and Judaic Art — belzmuseum.org, 523-2787

Christian Brothers University Gallery and Museum — cbu.edu/library/gallery, 321-3243

David Lusk Gallery — davidluskgallery.com, 767-3800

DCI Gallery — dcigallery.net, 767-8617

Jack Kenner Photography — jackkenner.com, 722-8877

Java Cabana (coffeehouse with gallery) — javacabanacoffeehouse.com, 272-7210

L Ross Gallery — lrossgallery.com, 767-2200

Lisa Kurts Gallery — lisakurts.com, 683-6200

Memphis/Germantown Art League — mgal.org, 328-8867

Memphis Jewish Community Center — jccmemphis.org, 761-0810

Monty Shane Photography — montyshane.com, 491-3354

Odessa — odessatheblog.wordpress.com

Otherlands Cafe (coffeehouse and gift shop) — otherlandscoffeebar.com, 278-4994

Rhodes College Clough-Hanson Gallery — rhodes.edu, 843-3442

South Main Arts District:

Art Stained Glass Studio— 527-7568

Art Village Studio and Gallery — 521-0782

D'Edge Art & Unique Treasures — 521-0054

Disciple Design — 386-4299

Fountain Art Gallery — 458-7100

Gallery Fifty-Six — 276-1251

Hannah Davis Gallery — 523-9891

Jack Robinson Gallery & Archive — 576-0708

Joysmith Studio —543-0505

The Majestic — 522-8555

Material — 219-1943

NARAS Recording Academy — 525-1340

Rainbow Studio — 521-0400

Rivertown Gallery — 527-7573

Sue Layman Designs — 527-2872

T Clifton Art Gallery — 323-2787

 

Music & Dance

Ballet Memphis — 7950 Trinity Rd., 737-7322, balletmemphis.org

Memphis Symphony Orchestra —585 S. Mendenhall, 537-2500, memphissymphony.org

Opera Memphis — 6745 Wolf River Pkwy, 257-3100, operamemphis.org

Other music/dance venues:

Beethoven Club Series — beethovenclubmemphis.org, 274-2504

Calvary and the Arts — calvarymemphis.org, 525-6602

Concerts International — concertsinternationalmemphis.org, 527-3067

Dance Works — danceworksinc.org, 301-3262

Lindenwood Concerts — lindenwoodcc.com, 458-8506

Memphis Chamber Music Society — artsmemphis.org/org/detail/2953, 758-0150

Minglewood Hall — minglewoodhall.com, 312-6058

New Ballet Ensemble — newballet.org, 726-9225

Project: Motion — projectmotiondance.org, 214-5327

 

Traveling performances/ local venues:

Bartlett Performing Arts and Conference Center — 3663 Appling Road, 385-6440, bpacc.org

Buckman Performing and Fine Arts Center — 60 Perkins Extended, St. Mary's Episcopal School, 537-1472, stmarysschool.org/thebuckman

Cannon Center for the Performing Arts — 255 N. Main, 576-1269, thecannoncenter.com

Germantown Performing Arts Centre — 1801 Exeter Road, 751-7500, gpacweb.com

The Orpheum Theatre — 203 S. Main, 525-7800, orpheum-memphis.com

 

Theater

Playhouse on the Square and Circuit Playhouse — 66 S. Cooper (Playhouse), 1711 Poplar (Circuit), 726-4656, playhouseonthesquare.org

Theatre Memphis — 630 Perkins Extended, 682-8323, theatrememphis.org

TheatreWorks — 2085 Monroe, 274-7139, theatreworksmemphis.org

Other theatres/theatrical groups

Bartlett Community Theatre — bartlettcommunitytheatre.org, 484-2646

Germantown Community Theatre — germantowncommunitytheatre.org, 754-2680

Hattiloo Theatre — hattilootheatre.org, 502-3486

Our Own Voice Theatre Troupe — ourownvoice.org, 274-1000

Playback Memphis — playbackmemphis.com, 264-0841

Poplar Pike Playhouse — ppp.org, 755-7775

Rhodes College McCoy Theatre — rhodes.edu/theatre, 843-3839

University of Memphis Theatre and Dance — memphis.edu/theatre, 678-2523

Voices of the South — voicesofthesouth.org, 726-0800

 

Readings & Book Signings

Barnes & Noble — 386-2468 (Wolfchase), 853-3264 (Collierville)

Borders Books and Music — 754-0770

Burke's Book Store — 278-7484

Davis-Kidd Booksellers — 683-9801

Java Cabana — 272-7210

River City Writers Series — 678-4692

Waldenbooks —373-5301 (Wolfchase)

Xanadu Book Store — 274-9885

 

Other Arts Organizations

ArtsMemphis — artsmemphis.org, 578-2787

Blues Foundation — blues.org, 527-2583

Center for Southern Folklore — southernfolklore.com, 525-3655

Harrell Performing Arts Theatre — harrelltheatre.org, 853-3228

Memphis Black Arts Alliance, Inc. — memphisblackartsalliance.org, 948-9522

Memphis Pink Palace Family of Museums — Includes Pink Palace and Museum, Crew Training International IMAX Theatre, Sharpe Planetarium, Coon Creek Science Center, Mallory-Neely House, Magevney House, and the Lichterman Nature Center, memphismuseums.org, 320-6362

UrbanArt Commission — urbanartcommission.org, 454-0474

Add your comment: